The CRECK Modeling Group

Detailed kinetic mechanisms and CFD of reacting flows

Check me out

The Chemical Reaction Engineering and Chemical Kinetics Lab has a consolidated experience in the the development of detailed and semi-detailed kinetic mechanisms of the pyrolysis, oxidation and combustion of gas, liquid and solids. The group is led by Prof. Tiziano Faravelli and includes 2 full professors, 2 associate professors, 2 assistant professors, 1 post doctoral researcher and 4 PhD students.

CRECK Modeling Group 2012


Detailed kinetic mechanisms

Detailed kinetic models constitute a very useful tool for the proper understanding of combustion processes and the characterization of typical phenomena like ignition delays and induction times, flame structure and pollutant formation. Design, simulation, optimization and control of industrial burners, gas turbines, boilers, incinerators and gasifier are typical application, as well as the design of internal combustion engines and the formulation of new fuels. The CRECK Lab has a consolidated experience of the the development of detailed and semi-detailed kinetic mechanisms of the pyrolysis, oxidation and combustion of gas, liquid and solids.


CFD of flames with detailed chemistry

Combustion devices (domestic and industrial burners, furnaces, internal combustion engines, combustors for aeromobiles, etc.) have to respect always more stringent limitations concerning the emissions of pollutant species, like CO, NOx, PAHs, soot, etc. Computational fluid dynamics (CFD), coupled with detailed kinetic mechanisms, represents a fundamental tool to study such devices and to characterize them in terms of formation of pollutants. This paves the route towards a more rational design, based on predictive numerical models.


Solid fuels

The environmental concerns towards the combustion of fossil fuels drive the interest in gasification processes of biomasses, plastics, wastes and refuse derived fuels (RDF). Gasification of solid fuels is nowadays a promising alternative to direct combustion, both electric and thermal energy are viable products, together with chemicals. The low costs and the availability of raw materials, combined with its renewability in the biomass scenario, justify the interest in this technology. Nevertheless, the complexity of this process makes difficult its mathematical description.

 

Team members

Tiziano Faravelli

Tiziano Faravelli

Full Professor
tiziano.faravelli@polimi.it
Eliseo Ranzi

Eliseo Ranzi

Full Professor
eliseo.ranzi@polimi.it
Alessio Frassoldati

Alessio Frassoldati

Full Professor
alessio.frassoldati@polimi.it
Alberto Cuoci

Alberto Cuoci

Associate Professor
alberto.cuoci@polimi.it
Marco Mehl

Marco Mehl

Associate Professor
marco.mehl@polimi.it
Alessandro Stagni

Alessandro Stagni

Assistant Professor
alessandro.stagni@polimi.it
Face Pelucchi

Matteo Pelucchi

Assistant Professor
matteo.pelucchi@polimi.it
Face Debiagi

Paulo Debiagi

Postdoc Fellow
pauloeduardo.debiagi@polimi.it
Abd Essamade Saufi

Abd Essamade Saufi

PhD Candidate
abdessamade.saufi@polimi.it
Luna Pratali Maffei

Luna Pratali Maffei

PhD Candidate
luna.pratali@polimi.it
Face Nobili

Andrea Nobili

PhD Candidate
andrea.nobili@polimi.it
Face Locaspi

Andrea Locaspi

PhD Candidate
andrea.locaspi@polimi.it
Isabella Branca

Isabella Branca

Administration Office
isabella.branca@polimi.it

H2020 IMPROOFh2020

 

 

 

Find out more about the IMPROOF Project, which received funding from the European Union's Horizon 2020 research and innovation programme for improving the energy efficiency of steam cracking furnaces, while reducing emissions of greenhouse gases and NOx.

Try the OpenSMOKE++ Suite

Do you need to simulate ideal reactors or laminar 1D flames? Why do not try the OpenSMOKE++ Suite from CRECK Modeling Lab? The OpenSMOKE++ Suite is a collection of standard solvers for modeling the typical systems of interest in developing and testing detailed kinetic mechanisms (including thousands of species and reactions).

Read more...

H2020 JETSCREENh2020

 

 

 

Find out more about the JETSCREEN Project, which received funding from the European Union's Horizon 2020 research and innovation programme for developing a screening and optimization platform for alternative fuels